ROBINS IN DECEMBER!

Standard

On this snowy December day, here in wintry Ontario of the Northern Hemisphere, I have been pondering what to share for the photo prompt of a New Horizon.

With recent events in neighbouring United States, climate change panic, and world-wide economic instability, I was at a loss to choose a starting point for selecting a suitable photo.

Then, as fate would have it, I looked out the sliding window door panes to a nearby linden tree. The sunlight shining on the almost leafless branches was highlighting some orange spots. I rushed to get my camera. It was not a partridge in a pear tree but a group of robins! Yes robins!

dscn2938

2016 ROBINS IN DECEMBER!

Indeed, earlier this week, several houses away, I had seen at least 20 of these “signs of spring” in a snow-covered yard. Today, at least half a dozen flew into this linden tree, & a trio managed to remain long enough for me to capture in a photo.

I wonder. Are these out-of-season robins a portent of changing times and climes? Will they adapt to the cold quickly to survive? Did they get separated from their peers on their migratory track?

Are we all looking towards a new horizon in 2017??? What do you think? Drop me a comment below, if you wish. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “ROBINS IN DECEMBER!

  1. Here in Michigan we have a few robins that stay year round – primarily in wooded areas near to water that is flowing so it doesn’t freeze. How exciting to see so many.

    Like

  2. Great pic, Patricia! I’ve also been surprised by robins in mid-winter (January in my case), having always thought of them as one of the first signs of spring. When I looked them up in a birding book though, it showed certain areas of the map where they actually stayed all winter… and I was living in one of those spots at the time. Maybe you are too! 🙂 Enjoy their beauty! ❤

    Like

Comment if you wish!

