Garden Textures

Standard

When I saw the “textures” photo prompt, yesterday, I thought of many summer garden features. Then I took a look at one of my favourites — red geraniums. These flowering plants are part of childhood memories for me and an encouraging part of warm weather colour in my container garden.

I kept in mind the recent photos of these gems as I stepped onto the deck for a closer look  and a touch of these distinct smelling classics. One plant is faring well in the antique stainless steel milking pail that I managed to save from my parents’ farm. The shiny silver tone provides a complementary backdrop to the green leaves & red blooms with textures that inspired me to write a haiku in their honour.

summer haiku 

red velvet flowers 
blooming in Surge milking pail 
geranium bliss

©2017 Patricia McGoldrick

I decided to share this duo on a perfectly hot summer day!

DSCN3795

One thought on “Garden Textures

Comment if you wish!

