SURPRISE!

Standard

2017! The new year has arrived with all the excitement of moving forward in our lives.

As the old year ended, I encountered a small surprise in the snow outside our home. A mix of snow, ice, more snow and wind, resulted in the formation of a snow roller. Previously, I had only seen these cute little bits of snow in pics on the news or weather station.

Quickly, I retrieved my camera to get a few photos. This is what I saw as it rested at the bottom of a small hill. The pathway on the left was 3 or 4 yards/metres in length. In the background, there is a less successful example this little phenomenon.

dscn3074

SNOW ROLLER!

Ironically, I soon found a poetry prompt online that called for a snowflake presence in a poem. Instantly, I knew that I wanted to write about the “Surprise” that I had found in the snow. My poem is posted at the link listed below:

Surprise!

Happy New Year to all!

Comment if you wish!